November 14, 2012

  • Look, I’m posting!

    I’ve gotten a couple of contacts from Xanga-land recently, so I thought I should post. This year I was hoping to get really involved with posting again, but life happened, and maybe I don’t need Xanga as much anymore. (Or maybe I have just filled my life with other things instead.)

    Stuff about my life these days (aka, an excuse to make every bullet point start with the word “I”):

    • I just hit my 40 pound weight loss mark.
    • I’m graduating summa cum laude on December 16 with a BA in Women’s Studies (after 7 years of hard work!).
    • I’m in 2 choirs: the Denver Women’s Chorus (been with them since spring of 2011) and the Decibelles, a brand-new, all-female a capella group that sings new music (been with them since August). I *may* have a solo – Adele’s Rolling in the Deep – at our next DWC concert (!!!) in January, and I do have a solo for our first Decibelles concert (Sara Bareilles’ Fairytale) in February.
    • After 8 years with the State Library, I got a new job (still at the Dept. of Ed.) as a Web Support Consultant. My salary is 72% higher than it was before, and I’m even making more than my dad (although somehow, my paycheck is spent just as fast as ever). The job is grant-funded through the end of June with no promise that I will be kept on (although they’re trying to get funding for me), so I may need to job-search again in the summer.
    • I bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee and I love it. This is the first time in my life I’ve ever had a car payment, though. Kind of a bummer, yet satisfying that it is 100% mine with no help from anyone else.
    • My Soldiers in Petticoats blog got hacked beyond belief (the entire database was taken and my web hosting people had no viable backups for me), and all posts were replaced with ads for Turkish penis pills. I was pissed, but I doubt I’ll take the time to rebuild it all again.
    • I briefly dated a guy I met online. It went ok until we kissed, at which point I realized he was the worst kisser with the worst breath IN THE ENTIRE WORLD and I told him it wasn’t going to work.
    • I can’t wait until Thanksgiving – 5 days off, yummy food, and family (with no obligation to give gifts, hooray!).
    • My Great-Grandpa passed away in September, shortly before his 103rd birthday. The loss still hits me at random times, and I’ll always be missing him.
    • I talk to my Grandma at least once every day, and she is – perhaps aside from my mom – the most important person in my life. I see her getting older and it terrifies me, because when she goes, it will be one of those deaths that you never really recover from. I need to focus on feeling incredibly grateful to have such an amazing woman in my life instead of feeling afraid for that random day I will lose her. I guess I’ve always done this – been unable to enjoy a good thing because of my fear of it being over someday.
    • I feel lonely a lot, still.
    • My new favorite game is Cards Against Humanity (which is basically Apples to Apples for terrible people). Check it out on Amazon.

Comments (5)

  • Thanks for the update!!! Congratulations are in order for so many accomplishments: graduating, hitting your weight loss goal, doin’ your sang thang, and getting a fancy job! Go, you!

  • @jim_the_american - Thank you!!!

    And although my weight loss goal is still far away (I’d like to get down to 150-175), 40 pounds is a good chunk, and I’m happy about that. It will certainly help me ensure I don’t get diabetes or have high blood pressure and cholesterol, etc., too. Plus, I lost those 40 pounds in 4 months, which is a nice solid rate.

  • With honors!!! I drive a Jeep Grand too.  Drove it to Vail and it felt right at home:))

  • The way you describe how the loss of your Grandma will affect you is something that I can relate to. I have the exact same feelings about my parents (both of whom are older parents) Every time one of them gets a health complaint I start to panic as I know living my life without them in it is incomprehensible. But you’re right, we have to focus on how lucky we are to have such amazing people in our lives. Reading that made me feel better, I know that someone understands now.

    Well done on your graduation, you should be very proud of yourself, you’ve worked very hard. Also, for your weight loss! It’s not easy and you’ve done a great job! The singin’ thing is great too. I wanna hear you do your solo!

    xx

  • @VixMoonWalker - You wrote this forever ago, but I thought I’d follow up anyway.

    Denver Women’s Chorus (large ensemble) concert, song is Adele’s Rolling in the Deep: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XytTiKmNfuQ, my solo is at 0:26 (you don’t see me on the screen for this one) and 1:30.

    Decibelles (a capella) concert, song is Sara Bareilles’s Fairytale: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVyPtO11XVA, my solo is at 7:35.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *